Skip to content
August 22, 2011 / owbEe

Korean-related iPhone apps

I previously posted about Typing Korean in iPhone4 and now I’ll share with you the apps that I use in learning Korean and Korean culture. First off, this is how my Korean springboard looks like:

Naver Webtoon (네이버 웹툰) by NHN Corp.

This app makes it easy to view daily manhwa (만화) from naver. You can view manhwas by day (요일별), by genre (장르별), or you can view your recent read via the 마이웹툰 button. You can also search your favorite manhwa by title via the search button.

My favorite manhwa would be Orange Marmalade (오렌지 마말레이드). It’s not like I’ve read every chapter in Korean; if I did I’d probably pull my hair every single time.

*Internet connection via Wi-fi or 3G required to search through manhwas.

Naver (네이버) by NHN Corp.

This app is really handy for Korean learners. I use this app whenever I get stuck with a Korean word while reading or studying Korean. It has an English-Korean dictionary (영어사전), Japanese-Korean dictionary (일어사전) and Hanja dictionary (한자사전).

Actually this app has other features besides being a dictionary. It has a QR code scanner, voice command search and music search. The Music search (음악) acts like the SoundHound app.  Isn’t it cool?

This app has a lot more but basically I use this as a dictionary.

*Internet connection via Wi-fi or 3G required.

Daum (다음) by Daum Communications Corp.

This app is somewhat similar to Naver app. It also has the dictionary function, QR code scanner, voice command search and music search, among many others.

Though Daum app and Naver app have the same functions, I prefer Naver more.

*Internet connection via Wi-fi or 3G required.

Dongsa Korean Verb Conjugator by Max Christian

The title says it all. This app helps in conjugating Korean verbs.

What I like about this app is that it does not only show one tense, it shows all the tenses. It also shows formal and informal forms. Click on the conjugated form and you will be sent to a more detailed explanation. At times, the etymology of the word is also included. It also explains how the conjugation was done using the rules.

You can also check out the online version here. ➡

Let’s Learn Korean with KBS by KBS

This app is composed of 20 lessons in different situations in airport, taxi, hotel, etc. It has a vocab list, sample dialogue and audio recordings in 10 languages.

It also has an online version here. ➡

Korean Cuisine by KBS

I haven’t tried any Korean dish yet, but the photos in this app are real tempting. Just like the Let’s Learn Korean app, it also has a language selection. It features 52 popular Korean dishes. The summary tab shows a brief description of the dish and some other interesting bits. The recipe tab shows the steps with accompanying photo. You can search dish by type, ingredients and season. There is also a ‘How to eat’ tab for tips and tricks on how to eat Korean food.

Korean Study Buddy by Ronald Bell

This app tests your Korean vocabulary skills. It has 2 modes: Test mode and Study mode. What this app lacks is the audio for the vocab. I think this app is nice for memory drills only. It doesn’t test your pronunciation or listening skills.

Korean Essentials by AccelaStudy

This app is way better than Korean Study Buddy. It has the audio for the words. Yay! It has study mode, flashcards, spaced repetition, quiz and audio quiz. The words are categorized: children and babies; colors; condiments; days, months and seasons; numbers and counting; shopping and weather. You can also make study sets so you can study your own vocabulary. Pretty neat.

Learn Korean Vocabulary –  Free Gengo Wordpower by by Innovative Language Learning, LLC

This app is from the same company as KC101. It sends a word every day at 12 midnight. Each word has an audio, sample sentences and phrases. You can also record your voice to see if you sound like a native Korean. You can save words in the wordbank and use the flashcards to study. I haven’t really tried using the wordbank yet. The study mode is sufficient for me right now. 😀

That’s it for now. I’m still trying to expand my list of apps to use and share. How about you, what apps do you use in learning Korean? I also want to know. 😉

46 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Tom (@tom_oti) / Aug 22 2011 7:23 pm

    I think a good flash card program is essential! It’s the best way I’ve found to remember all the new words I encounter.

    • owbEe / Aug 22 2011 7:35 pm

      Korean Essentials is a good app for that purpose. You can also create your own flashcard using it.

      “I think a good flash card program is essential!” — I agree with that. But sometimes flashcards don’t work with me. I need to see photos and sample sentences to really get it in my brain. :/

    • bill gates / Aug 22 2011 11:54 pm

      I think Anki is the best of the bunch for flashcard apps. It is 100% free and customisable 🙂

  2. Jesse Harshbarger / Aug 22 2011 7:55 pm

    /Wow\ you worked hard! salamat! 고마워요!

    • owbEe / Aug 22 2011 8:05 pm

      You’re welcome. Walang anuman. Are you the Jesse for alohahands? Just wondering. 🙂

  3. mishmash / Aug 22 2011 8:41 pm

    I use anki for my flash cards and it’s highly customizable. You can add audio and pictures, and set it in such a way that you can type in answers in the blanks. the learning curve is extremely steep though and i’m still finding my way around it.

    • owbEe / Aug 22 2011 9:00 pm

      Hi mishmash. 😀

      Is Anki a free app? I was searching for it in the app store but I only found 2 Anki-es, both of which are paid. One is $24.99 and the other is $2.99. Or am I looking for the wrong app?

      Anyway, thanks for sharing.

  4. jon / Aug 22 2011 8:42 pm

    I use Anki flashcard software on my computer and iPod to review words.

    Do you have any suggestions for an offline dictionary?

    • owbEe / Aug 22 2011 9:08 pm

      Hi jon. 🙂

      Is Anki a free app? Offline dictionary? I’m still looking for one too. I hope someone makes one, but I guess it would take a lot of memory in your device. :/

  5. jon / Aug 22 2011 9:16 pm

    Anki for a computer is free. For the ipod/iphone its like $25. I used it so much on my computer I thought it was worth it. You can also have both the flash card decks sync, so the other device will know when you reviewed last or if you added more words. The sync only works with an internet connection, not when you plug your ipod/iphone into your computer, which is annoying sometimes if you are using an iPod Touch.

    I see a lot of K-E dictionaries in the app store, I just don’t want to spend the money to try them all out.

    • owbEe / Aug 22 2011 9:22 pm

      For me, I think it’s too much for a flashcard application. Flashcards don’t work for me that much, so I guess I’ll just skip that. I also saw a lot of dictionaries but I prefer free apps. I already bought tons of books that I barely touch so I guess its time for me to save. 😀

    • bill gates / Aug 23 2011 1:16 am

      Another reason to be using Android! Anki is free 🙂

  6. jon / Aug 22 2011 9:37 pm

    I only have 2 Korean books, but when I was younger and studying Japanese I bought lots of books I barely used. I really don’t know why.

    • owbEe / Aug 23 2011 11:53 pm

      I guess I just like to have a lot of cute Korean books. 🙂 I’ll try to finish them first before I buy some more. ㅋㅋㅋ

  7. meloncreme / Aug 22 2011 10:53 pm

    언니!! Finally, I’ve been waiting for this post coz I really need to download useful Korean apps for studying. XD I didn’t know dongsa has an app. I always check dongsa whenever I get confused in conjugating irregular verbs. ^^

    • owbEe / Aug 23 2011 11:57 pm

      I actually thought of you when I posted this. I know I told you that I’m going to post one, so after a really long time I finally did. Yay!

      I didn’t know about the dongsa too. I just happened to see it while I was browsing through Korean apps. It’s just frustrating because when I was downloading an app it went back to the first page so I stopped looking for any Korean app.

      There are a lot of Korean apps out there I just don’t know if they’re worth downloading. :/

  8. James Burton / Aug 22 2011 11:37 pm

    If you’re loooking for a good flashcard program, I highly recommend Anki (http://ankisrs.net/). I’ve been using it or a couple of months now to learn Korean vocabulary and it’s been really effective. I’ve been able to memorize more vocabulary more quickly than before I was using this software. The desktop and web versions are free, but unfortunately the mobile version is a bit expensive. About $25. It’s possible to import lists that others have made, but I found that making my own lists was part of the learning procress.

    • owbEe / Aug 24 2011 12:00 am

      HI James. 🙂

      A lot of language learners recommend Anki. The only problem is that I’m not a flashcard person. But I guess I’ll try it sometime. Thanks for sharing. 😀

  9. Jeanne / Aug 23 2011 4:29 am

    Thank you for this list! I just have an iTouch (well, an iPhone with no SIM card in it) so I can’t use Internet everywhere, but the dictionaries will be very useful for when I read Korean books in my bed and need to check a word without rebooting my computer.
    Anki is an awesome flashcard software. I’ve used it for nearly a year now, every single day. The desktop version is free, but indeed, the iPhone application is a bit pricey. However, this program was so life-changing to me that if only I used my iTouch more often, I’d pay the money in a heartbeat.

    • owbEe / Aug 24 2011 12:02 am

      If I’m not mistaken, you’re the sixth person to recommend Anki in this post. I guess I should really try it. ㅋㅋㅋ

  10. kamillxjxmoon / Aug 23 2011 5:09 pm

    I downloaded a lot of free Korean language apps
    some of them you already have like:

    Dongsa Korean Verb Conjugator

    Let’s Learn Korean with KBS

    Korean Study Buddy

    Korean Essentials

    Learn Korean Vocabulary – Free Gengo Wordpower

    the Free apps that I have that you don’t have are:

    DioDict Phrasebook

    Just quick’n Easy Korean

    Learn Korean a Korean Phrasebook

    Talk to me in Korean
    it’s free (just type in Korlink or TTMIK) ( but you have to have internet access to use it)

    Integrated Korean Beginning/intermediate Lite

    I have more apps but you have to buy them:

    Talk to me in Korean lesson companion application
    (need internet access but you can download the lessons and listen/watch them offline too)

    (to download the pdf’s just download them off of ttmik podcasts on itunes but you have to have Ibooks)

    Korean Language guide plus (worldnomads.com) (teaches phrases)

    Korean class 101 ( I got some of mine for free cause they sometimes give free apps in the app store and I got a lot of their apps for free one day but their not free anymore it was just that one day)

    Korean hangul handwriting plus+
    (it’s for beginners it helps me with learning hangul and writing them)
    I also got this for free too but now you have to pay for it

    Dr. Kids DIY flash cards
    ( it has a lite version for free and it’s fun and you can also make your own flashcards with pictures but only up to 20 then you have to buy more slots)

    Hangul touch
    (for beginners learning hangul)

    Dict. Box English-Korean dictionary
    (has a whole bunch of dictionaries in one for offline and online) just search ” dict box ”
    I don’t Know much about this cause i don’t use it much but you can probably see if it is some use to you.

    I’m a very beginner in Korean so i have more stuff for beginners than for intermediate
    I check the app store Once a day to see if they have any free Korean Apps..I know that probably seems like a lot but if they give out a good app that helps with learning Korean then why not

    to search for free Korean apps just type ” free Korean” in the app store. see if they have something in there for you to use that’s free.
    and this is mostly what I do to find thing to help teach myself Korean.

    I’m going to post this comment on my blog just cause it might be helpful to somebody.

    • owbEe / Aug 24 2011 12:04 am

      Hi kamill.

      Thanks for this list. I’ll try to check them when I have the time. I guess I’ll stick with the free apps though. 🙂

  11. kamillxjxmoon / Aug 24 2011 10:15 am

    your welcome 🙂

  12. sky / Sep 1 2011 9:58 pm

    Thanks so much for posting! I am trying to improve my Korean and I love my iphone this post is a match made in heaven! =)

    • owbEe / Mar 25 2012 9:06 pm

      Hi sky. Thanks. I’m glad your iphone and this post matched. 😆

  13. Chantelle / Nov 4 2011 9:07 pm

    Thanks for all of the app recommendations. I’ve been looking for a good webtoon app, so I will have to check out Naver’s. If you have a tablet, there are a lot of really nice interactive Korean book apps. Like many of the others who have commented, I use Anki for flashcards too.

    • owbEe / Nov 4 2011 10:11 pm

      Hi Chantelle. You’re welcome. 😀

  14. Sara / Nov 17 2011 1:05 pm

    I wish we had those apps T.T I have an android and we don’t have great apps on learning Korean like these.

    • owbEe / Mar 25 2012 9:06 pm

      I’ll ask my sister to post a list of Korean apps that she uses on her android. I just hope she agrees. lol.

    • hipployta / Mar 27 2012 12:18 pm

      I have some of these on my iPad and Android phone so some are in the Android Market

  15. Rohit / Nov 20 2011 6:12 am

    Do you know any Korean app like “Weixin” that Chinese people use to communicate and find friends or strangers anywhere around you or elsewhere in the whole world! I would like to be able to do the same and meet Koreans that live around me & it would help me practice my Korean learning, right?
    Not sure if Naver does something similar…Thx.

    • Juliana / Feb 17 2012 4:38 am

      I also have the same question

    • owbEe / Mar 25 2012 8:57 pm

      I haven’t encountered any app like that yet or probably I just wasn’t searching. 😐

    • hipployta / Mar 27 2012 12:17 pm

      Kakao Talk perhaps…also TTMIK does connections and Live Mocha does live chats for talking

Leave a comment