Skip to content
April 7, 2009 / owbEe

Typing in Hangeul Part 2

As promised, this is the second part of my post Typing in Hangeul.

Today I will be presenting the Korean Keyboard Layout that I’ve worked so hard for. It took me hours making it so I hope no one would snatch it and claim that they made it themselves. Anyway, here it is:

Korean Keyboard Layout by MyLinguistics

Korean Keyboard Layout by MyLinguistics

I used the keyboard layout of my laptop so it may not be similar to other keyboards but the main idea is that each letter represents a character in 한글.

Let me explain to you the color coding of this keyboard layout. You may see that I placed 3 color sections for the layout. The pink-colored letters are the vowels of 한글. On the other hand, the green- and blue-colored letters are for the consonants. I made it so it would be distinct enough especially if you’re only a beginner and those who are just about to start typing in 한글.

The consonants are subdivided into 2 colors. Now, why is that? I made the first batch of consonants green in the uppermost part to distinguish that these are the characters with a 쌍 or double.

For example, to type the honorific suffix , you need to make ㅅ double. So to make that possible you need to press SHIFT and (which is the letter T) simultaneously and then press the (which is the letter L).

The blue-colored letters are those consonants without the 쌍 counterpart.

So I guess you’ve already Mastered the Art of Typing Hangeul. I can now leave the rest to you. Enjoy typing my friend. 😉

P.S. You can also download/save the image for you to print and have beside you when you type. You can learn a lot faster this way. Hope I made your life a lot easier with this image. Thanks for visiting and do leave your feedbacks. Comments are ♥.

EDIT [04.09.09]: I edited the layout I made. Added ㅒ and ㅖ. Thanks Jim for mentioning it. Good thing I still have the raw file with me.

38 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. JL / Apr 9 2009 11:56 am

    Yeah, that’s the layout for Hangeul typing. Another thing is that pressing SHIFT for the ㅔ ‘e’ will result in ㅖ ‘ye’ and pressing SHIFT+ㅐ will get you ㅒ.

    • owbEe / Apr 9 2009 3:49 pm

      Oh yeah, I forgot about that. Thanks for reminding me. Lol..

      I’ll try to edit the keyboard and add the missing letters. ^^

  2. hangukdrama / Apr 11 2009 1:18 am

    wow! that’s really helpful for those who want to learn 한글 typing!
    수고하셨어요~

    • owbEe / Apr 11 2009 11:52 am

      Thanks.

  3. jeannell / Jul 22 2009 4:20 am

    hi thanks for this i can type letters in hangeul yehey

    • owbEe / Jul 22 2009 11:42 am

      Hi Jeannell. You’re welcome. 😀

  4. nameisann / Nov 2 2009 4:25 am

    wow!this is really helpful thanks owbEe!!!^^

    • owbEe / Nov 2 2009 4:39 am

      no problem.:)

  5. Khanh / Dec 30 2009 2:53 am

    Thank you very much, it is very useful! 고맙습니다!

    • owbEe / Dec 30 2009 10:11 pm

      You’re welcome Khanh. 🙂

  6. Marco / Jan 6 2010 12:53 am

    I cannot spot “ch” letter.

    • owbEe / Jan 6 2010 2:31 pm

      It’s the letter C.

  7. Sarah / Sep 7 2010 2:35 pm

    한글 :O i’m doing it!!! AH! thank you!!!! no one could tell me what was wrong. i had the toolbar, but it wouldn’t work! now it does! ^^ now i need to learn some words… 😛
    ^^ i’m so happy, thank you!

    • owbEe / Sep 8 2010 2:16 am

      Hi there Sarah. 😀

      I’m glad that this post helped you in typing Korean characters. If you need any help just drop by and leave me a comment. Good luck and enjoy studying Korean. 😀

  8. 아리사 hehehee / Oct 10 2010 12:48 am

    you never know how happy i am when i found your websiteeeeee . Thank you so much for this ❤ Keep going mate !
    감사함 니다 ㅋㅋㅋㅋ

  9. Johnathan / Oct 12 2010 11:41 am

    What about using special characters? Is there a way to do that?
    Because I find myself being limited here… 😦

    • owbEe / Nov 27 2010 9:51 pm

      Hi Johnathan. I posted something about Special characters in Korean IME. I’m not sure if that’s what you’re looking for. Here’s the post.

  10. Aternall / Jun 10 2011 8:35 am

    Thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuuu for the keyboard& IME installation ^o^ u did a great job, I’m super duper happy that I found your blog:D hope you will have time to keep posting awesome things on your blog 😀 =] time to type in korean ㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋ take care. annyong ~

    • owbEe / Jun 11 2011 3:45 am

      You’re welcome Aternall. I’m glad that you liked the layout. 😀

  11. Tiamat / Jul 4 2011 12:06 am

    Hi, do you know whether there is some key I can press to indicate that I’m finished typing this syllable, so that the next consonant I press will be the start of a new syllable instead of the end of the current syllable?

    • owbEe / Jul 6 2011 4:17 am

      Hi Tiamat. If you are typing the same syllable in a word, I suggest you just type away the letters or the spelling of that word. It automatically places the letter in it’s right spot if you got the right spelling. For example when you type 안녕, just type the designated letters ㅇ ㅏ ㄴ ㄴ ㅕ ㅇ consecutively without spaces and it will form the word. But if you only typed ㅇ ㅏ ㄴ ㅕ ㅇ, it will show this way: 아녕. I hoped I answered your question. 😀

  12. ahuva / Jul 4 2011 11:33 pm

    Hello, when I try to type 라면 it brings the “m” under the “la” , how can I fix it? thank you

    • owbEe / Jul 6 2011 4:21 am

      Hi Ahuva. How do you enter the letters? Do you type it just as is or do you press space with each syllable? You don’t need to press space when you type a word. Just type out the letters as is, the computer recognizes when to cut the letters and place it in the next syllable. You only need to press space after each word. 🙂

  13. feifei91 / Aug 3 2011 10:52 pm

    OMG! I LOVE YA!!! Finally, I can type in Korean!!! Thanks a lot!!! 😀 I will definitely frequent your blog more often from today onwards… 😉

    • owbEe / Aug 3 2011 11:12 pm

      Hi feifei91. I’m glad that you can finally type in Korean. Thanks for visiting my blog. I hope you’ll enjoy my future posts.

Trackbacks

  1. Installing MS Korean IME « My Linguistics
  2. Special characters in Korean IME « My Linguistics

Leave a Reply

