Skip to content
July 19, 2011 / owbEe

Typing Korean in iPhone 4

I recently changed my old rusty Nokia to iPhone. Upon receiving it, I immediately searched for tutorials on how to type Korean using my new phone. I couldn’t find any tutorials in the net so I immediately searched for apps. I guess I’m just plainly stupid to not realize that I can find the answer in the manual. Fortunately, I found the answer while scanning through Korean related apps.

If you are also a Korean learner who is using iPhone but still doesn’t know how to type in Korean, today is your lucky day. There are 2 ways to activate the Korean Keyboard in your iPhone:

#1: Go to Settings > General > Keyboard > International Keyboards > Add New Keyboard… > Choose Korean.

#2: Go to Settings > General > International > Keyboards > Add New Keyboard… > Choose Korean.

After doing the above steps you will see this on your screen:

Easy isn’t it? So how do I start typing in Korean?

Go to messages or notes or anywhere you can type in a message. Here’s a comparison of before and after activating the Korean keyboard.

Before activating the Korean keyboard

After activating the Korean keyboard

See the added globe button? You need to press the globe button between the 123 key and space bar to switch to the Korean keyboard. Your keyboard will look like this:

I also tried using the keyboard when typing SMS, @twitter and at facebook (not shown below).

Note: To switch back to Roman alphabet just press the globe button again. You can also add another keyboard if you want.

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. alohahands / Jul 19 2011 4:39 am

    공부가 재미있어졌어요!

  2. meloncreme / Jul 20 2011 10:27 am

    Ooooh! I haven’t used Apple products and I’m getting an iPod touch tomorrow. This tutorial is perfect, now I know how to turn on the Korean keyboard on my iPod. =) 고마워요.

    언니(not sure if you’re older or younger than I am), I forgot to ask you this in your last post. Are you Filipino?

    • owbEe / Jul 21 2011 1:39 am

      I’m not sure if the process is the same with iPod touch but at least you know what you’re going to look for.

      Yes, I’m also a Filipino. And yes, I think I’m an 언니 to you. 😀

    • meloncreme / Jul 22 2011 3:05 am

      Hello ate! ^^
      I tried it. The process is the same with iPod touch. I love it! It’s easier to type in Korean on the iPod touch than on my laptop. I still can’t memorize the Korean keyboard. >_<

    • owbEe / Jul 22 2011 4:15 am

      안녕 동생!
      It’s good that it’s just the same. I agree that it’s easier to type from iPhone/iPod than from our regular keyboard. Probably if we have the Korean keyboard (with the Korean script etched on it), we’ll do better.

      We just have to keep practicing. 화이팅 동생! ^^

  3. Archana / Jul 20 2011 7:03 pm

    Yaaay Sarah updated!^^ I love typing in Korean on my iPod touch. It’s so much easier than typing using my computer keyboard OTL.

    • owbEe / Jul 21 2011 1:42 am

      It’s so easy ’cause you can see the letters unlike using the computer you need to guess the korean letter behind the roman alphabet. ㅋㅋㅋ You’re not alone, I also have the same problem. :/

  4. Sam Palmer / Aug 22 2011 8:34 pm

    an easier shortcut to switch back and forth from languages is to press and hold the globe button, it brings up a list and while your finger is still on the screen you can scroll up and change the language.

    • owbEe / Aug 22 2011 10:04 pm

      Hi Sam. 🙂

      I never tried that with the globe button, I only tried it before with the letters and symbols. Nice to know. Thanks for the tip Sam. 😀

  5. Doug 陀愚 / Apr 27 2012 6:09 pm

    Great post. I started doing this myself recently to get more exposure to Korean daily. 🙂 I have both Japaense and Korean on mine, and somehow the fonts for Japaense changed when I enabled Korean. Also, there’s no Siri for Korean yet (nuts).

  6. Aubrey / May 17 2014 7:26 am

    My question is how to read Korean on iPod touch

    • owbEe / Jun 16 2014 8:05 pm

      Hi Aubrey.

      I don’t think it’s anything different. If you’re viewing Korean it would just appear as Korean scripts, I believe. I have never changed any setting for me to be able to read Korean. The only difference is when you want to type in Korean.

      Hope that helps. 🙂

  7. unyukwife / Sep 13 2015 4:58 pm

    Oooh. So it work like that just like on samsung. Thank you ^^

Trackbacks

  1. Korean-related iPhone apps « My Linguistics

Leave a Reply

