Skip to content
August 16, 2009 / owbEe

Books and random stuff

Yesterday, I just received the book my mom bought for me at Amazon. I’m really disappointed since the book cover is different from what I expected. Though it has the same title, author and contents, I still got disappointed when I opened the package.

Supposedly, the book should look like this one:

But instead, I got this one:

Can you see the difference? I thought this book would complement my Elementary Korean, but no. Actually the quality of the paper used in this book is better than the the one used in my Elementary Korean but still, I prefer to have uniformity when it comes to my things. I know I bought this book for its contents but I bought it knowing I’ll have what I wanted. So disappointing.

Even my sister was affected when she saw it. She can’t even enjoy her books because of that.

On the other hand, my sister bought two books from the same publisher. She got these two uniform books.

Aren’t they pretty? I’m so envious!!! πŸ˜₯

Anyway, we already mailed Amazon about our concern. I hope we can fix this. 😐

On another note, I want to thank my bestfriend Ana for supporting me in this Korean venture. It really means a lot. πŸ˜€

And also, I’m currently working on a project site which will hopefully be out soon. So watch out for it. And yeah, I would like to thank Hyunwoo ssi for inspiring me in making this upcoming site. πŸ™‚

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. cheanrah / Aug 17 2009 3:37 am

    hello! owbee,,, i’m really happy for you because you have books that will guide you in learning the Korean language more. I only have one book, a korean learning book which is all about the basics. Since it’s my only book, i take full advantage of it. I hope that in time, i will be able to have lots of korean books too.

    btw, thanks for acknowledging me in this post. but just like what i’ve said, “what are friends are for”!

    i will support you all the way until you’re in korea!!!

    i’ll be waiting for your next site!

    hwaiting!

    • owbEe / Aug 17 2009 10:50 am

      Wow. Thanks. I’m really touched.

  2. lyrynne / Aug 18 2009 10:12 am

    Hi there!! I’m Jinni and I just came through your blog the other day^^
    I’m filipino living in Korea
    I’ve been studying the language by myself for 9 years now
    I think you need Seoul University’s ν•œκ΅­μ–΄ series, Yonsei’s and Kyunghee University’s as well
    Those are good for studying korean especially grammar^^

    • owbEe / Aug 18 2009 11:32 am

      Thanks. I guess I’ll finish reading my books first then I’ll try those books afterwards.

      By the way, where do you live in Korea?

      You’ve studied for 9 years now, that’s amazing! I’ve only started a year ago.

  3. lyrynne / Aug 18 2009 4:42 pm

    I live near Seoul^^ in Gwacheon City to be exact. I started studying korean when I was in 5th grade but it wasn’t that serious, like I only study when I’m in the mood so I can’t say my Korean is great.

    • owbEe / Aug 18 2009 4:50 pm

      How long have been there? Do you also speak Filipino?

    • lyrynne / Aug 18 2009 5:20 pm

      I’ve been here for a year and a half now. I live with my family and yes, I can speak filipino^^

  4. μœ€μ„  / Aug 19 2009 2:37 am

    Hello! I know what you mean about uniformity… that would have pissed me off, too!

    What’s the project you’re working on?! =D

    • owbEe / Aug 19 2009 11:27 am

      At least someone understands me.

      I’m planning to make a site just like Hyunwoo’s Send Me To Korea. I got inspired by it and decided to make one for my country. ^^ It’s still in the prenatal stage so there’s not much to see. πŸ™‚

  5. Shanna / Aug 21 2009 5:25 am

    i look forward to your new blog! ^^

    • owbEe / Aug 23 2009 7:23 pm

      Thanks. But I really think it would take long before I launch this new site.

  6. JL / Aug 26 2009 8:58 pm

    Well what matters is the content. Actually I prefer the green hardcover because I too have the same book! γ…‹γ…‹γ…‹ πŸ˜€

    • owbEe / Aug 26 2009 11:21 pm

      Yeah, I saw it in one of Shanna’s posts.

      If I have the green Elementary Korean it’s okay to have this green Continuing Korean, but unfortunately I have the blue/green one. I’m really a picky person and I’m also into order and uniformity. Hehe. ^^

  7. μΌ€μ”” / Jun 17 2012 5:22 am

    I think the one with ν•œκΈ€ characters is prettier! And yeah, I would also prefer my books to be uniform. The Japanese books are kawaii!! But I heard those books are really expensive so I tried my best looking for free pdf files. lol~ luckily I found them. ^___^ But, I think these are incomplete. I haven’t really went through the content. πŸ˜›

    I think I saw your site before, was that the 7,107 Islands? I’m not sure though.. But I forgot the link.. :p

    • owbEe / Jun 19 2012 11:55 pm

      You got pdfs? Where?

      Yes, that’s it. 7,107 Islands. It’s currently on hiatus right now. No new posts from me. But you can still view the site here: http://7107.leapflysoar.com/

Leave a Reply

