Skip to content
June 12, 2012 / owbEe

문자왔숑 (Message received)

[Originally posted at LeapFlySoar.Com]

If you’re not familiar with Korean you would see this post’s title as a code of some kind. Let me breakdown the code for you:

문자 (munja) means message or letter,  (watt) is the past tense of 오다 (oda) which means to come. So if we combine them, it would mean message came or message received.

문자왔숑 (munjawassyong) is a cute version of 문자왔어 (munjawasseo). From what I noticed, younger generations usually add the ㅇ at the end of the sentence when they type messages or when they act all cutesy or what Korean’s call 애교 (aegyo).

Yesterday, out of the blue, I decided to search on how to add ringtones to iPhone. I found several post suggesting to jailbreak my phone just so I can upload ringtones. I really don’t want to change anything inside my phone’s software so I just gave up in my search. I then remembered one of my co-workers told me I can download ringtones online without jailbreaking my phone.

If you would ask me what I first looked for, I searched for anything related to Korean.

I’ve watched Secret Garden and one of the things that reminds me of this drama is the ringtone used by the main female character. The title of the said ringtone is 문자왔숑.

Listen and Download

This next ringtone is used in 100 Days with Mr. Arrogant (내사랑 싸가지) and City Hunter (시티헌터). I’m not sure if this ringtone was used in another drama or movie. Its title is 전화왔다메세진데속았지.

Listen and Download

Aren’t they cute? Do you know any other cute Korean ringtones?

23 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Stephanie / Jun 12 2012 6:49 am

    Great post!! I was just looking for cute ringtones/message tones for my iPhone! Please post more if you have any more! ^o^

    • owbEe / Jun 12 2012 1:01 pm

      Hi Stephanie.

      Thanks for commenting. 🙂

  2. BLAQOut / Jun 12 2012 9:01 pm

    I have 2 apps on my android phone that have tons of cute Korean ringtones! My favorite is the kid singing the Three Bears

    • owbEe / Jun 13 2012 1:26 am

      Hi BLAQOut.

      That’s nice. Mind sharing the name of the app? Some of my android-user readers might consider trying it. Thanks. 🙂

    • ira / Jun 14 2012 7:37 pm

      Thank you, Sarah! I’ve set 문자왔숑 as my ringtone, so cute~ and also hi to BLAQOut, yes please I’d like to know what app you’re using 😀

    • owbEe / Jun 14 2012 10:31 pm

      Hi elfira. You’re welcome. 😉

    • BLAQBias / Jun 14 2012 10:38 pm

      The apps are called “Lovely Korea Ringtone” and “Korea Popular Ringtone”

    • owbEe / Jun 14 2012 10:53 pm

      Thanks for that BLAQ. 🙂 I tried to look for it in iphone but it’s not available. Too bad, I’ll probably just search around for some other ringtone.

    • jason / Sep 12 2013 1:38 pm

      hi im trying to findsome app that has kor sound affects is you guys know please let me know

  3. Eileen Schulte / Jun 13 2012 5:53 am

    전화왔다메세진데속았지
    what does it actually mean?

    • owbEe / Jun 14 2012 1:03 am

      Hi Eileen.

      The first part is 전화 왔다.

      전화 means phone, phone call. 왔다 is the past tense of 오다 which means to come.
      전화 왔다 literally means phone call came. But actually means you have a phone call or you received a phone call.

      The second part is 메세진데 속았지.

      메세지 – message
      -ㄴ데 – grammatical structure added to mean but, however, so. Here’s a grammar explanation from ttmik.
      속다 – be deceived, be fooled
      -지 – a verb ending used to when a fact or a statement is already known to both speaker and listener. Click here for a more thorough explanation from ttmik.

      So it means:

      You received a phone call but it’s (actually) a message. Fooled you, right?

      Or something like that. Hope my translation isn’t all that bad. 😉

  4. Katharine (수정) / Jul 7 2012 2:05 am

    Love it! I remember it from the drama Secret Garden! 😀

    • owbEe / Jul 7 2012 7:37 pm

      Hi Kat! I didn’t know you’re in VIetnam now. How’s life there? What brought you to Vietnam? Anyway, take care. See you! 🙂

    • Katharine (수정) / Jul 7 2012 8:40 pm

      I’m just taking a few months off before looking for a job. btw, where are you staying now?

    • owbEe / Jul 7 2012 8:46 pm

      Are you going back to PH to look for a job, or actually look for a job there on Vietnam. I would actually like to go someplace not dominated by the English language. Like Korea probably, lol. I’m in Sunny California now. Wanna go back to PH but I think my life is here now.

    • Katharine (수정) / Jul 7 2012 8:49 pm

      if i couldn’t find one here i might just go back to ph. but if i do, i’d just stay here for a while. But I really want to go to Korea, too. hahaha and try living there. haha

    • owbEe / Jul 7 2012 8:54 pm

      Same here. I wanna try living alone in a whole new different place with nobody who knows me or my name. But like I said, not in an English-speaking country. Somewhere really ‘foreign’.

    • Katharine (수정) / Jul 7 2012 8:55 pm

      oh same here!!! haha. so far, i’m liking it here in hanoi. but still, it’d be different if I’m in a place I love aka SK. hahaha

    • owbEe / Jul 7 2012 8:59 pm

      Yeah, lol. South Korea is like a fantasy land for most Korean learners, I think. 😆

    • Katharine (수정) / Jul 7 2012 9:02 pm

      so true! oh i wish i could go there soon! haha

  5. Fion / Jul 20 2012 7:02 pm

    My current ringtones are from the Love Rain drama. U can check it out if u like ^^ http://intuition-magicdrag.blogspot.com.au/2012/06/love-rain-seo-joon-hana-message-tones.html

  6. shey chung / May 16 2013 8:35 pm

    Hi. Theres a cute polytone in korean drama like The Greatest Love and I Do I Do. But I dont know where can I download it. Pls help me. Thank you.!

Trackbacks

  1. 문자왔숑 (Message received) « My Korean Notebook

Leave a Reply

