Skip to content
April 1, 2010 / owbEe

A Letter from Korea

안녕하세요!

It’s been awhile since I’ve updated this space. Most of my updates were about other Korean-related sites and nothing about my progress in Korean. How disappointing! T_T

Anyway, my post for today is about the letter that I received from a Korean friend. Actually, I received the letter months ago but due to a lot of things in mind I couldn’t concentrate on posting it immediately here.

How we became friends.

It was in the year 2009 when we met through Cyworld. With the help of Shanna, I managed to get my own Cyworld account last January 1st of 2009. I didn’t know much about Cyworld then. I used to lurk around Soompi to get hints on how to post diary entries and upload photos, how to edit my hompy, how to decorate my miniroom and storyroom, how to keep a message from a visitor private and how to add 일촌 (1st degree/friends).

I already knew how to read 한글 (Korean script/alphabet) at that time so I wasn’t having any problems except for the fact that I couldn’t understand the Korean words I was reading. I guess the only basic words I knew then were 이름 (name), 이메일 (e-mail), 비밀번호 (password), 로그인 (log-in), 로그아웃 (log out), 랜덤 (random). So I went on with those information and tried visiting other people’s 미니홈피 (mini homepage). I then tried adding friends.

And then I met 연희.

Though I have a lot of friends in my list, I can’t talk to most of them. Some were not replying or some only said ‘Hi’ and nothing more. At first, 연희 and I were not that close. We just communicated through the visitors’ page, until we lost contact due to the deletion of her Cyworld account.

After sometime, I lost interest in Cyworld which led me to seldom log-in to the site. It was then that I received an email stating that there was an 일촌 request at my 홈피. I visited my 홈피 again and was surprised to see that it was an invite from 연희. She remembered me and she added me back. We were back to talking in the visitors’ page, back to commenting on each other’s photos, and back to telling how our day went. Just recently we decided to make a 커플 다이어리 (couple diary). We made it since it’s much easier and simpler to use than the visitor’s page, where comment after comment gets piled up.

Okay, so that’s basically the story of how we became friends.

The Letter.

I don’t exactly remember how she decided to send me a letter; maybe it was because of the holidays or maybe because she learned that I love receiving letters. Whatever the reason was, I’m really happy that she made all the effort to send one for me.

Here’s the letter that she sent. She also gave me her 이름표 (name tag) and a mini photo. 😀

I hope one day I can meet her in person when I visit Korea. :mrgreen:

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. lyrynne / Apr 2 2010 12:11 am

    koreans are good at writing their friends letters! that’s sooo cute!! I don’t have a cyworld because I don’t have much to do there but it’s interesting~ Thanks for updating sarah!!

    • owbEe / Apr 2 2010 12:37 am

      Yeah. I didn’t expect the name tag and the photo with the letter. So I’m a bit pressured with my response letter. ㅋㅋㅋ I’ll try to think of something that would surprise her too. 😀

      I think it’s cool to have Cyworld especially if you have a lot of Korean friends. It’s a cute way to keep them updated with what’s happening in your daily life. Try it. 😀

  2. 조연희 / Apr 3 2010 5:12 am

    Sarah. I’m so happy to read your writing. Thank you very much! >.<

    • owbEe / Apr 3 2010 1:31 pm

      연희! 😀

      Thanks for the comment. I’m glad you read my entry even though you’re busy. 😀

  3. Galinaros / Apr 5 2010 12:56 pm

    It’s nice to see you’ve got a pen-pal-like friend. Hope you’re both well 😀

    • owbEe / Apr 5 2010 7:19 pm

      Thanks. 😀

  4. Rin / Oct 4 2010 6:08 am

    So do you write to her in korean and she replies in english? that’s so cool 😀 but how did u make a cyworld? I heard you need to have a social security number or something similar that only koreans would have.

    • owbEe / Oct 5 2010 4:43 pm

      Most of the time we talk in English since I’m not really fluent in Korean yet. Sometimes I use Korean in writing simple messages to her. If I made some mistakes she corrects me. I also do the same with her English so we learn from each other.

      I just searched some tutorials online. You don’t need to have a social security number if you’re a foreigner. But you need to send them a copy of your passport or your ID to be accepted. 😀

Leave a Reply

