Skip to content
December 20, 2009 / owbEe

Korean Standard Pronunciation

I saw this site months ago while looking for Korean learning sites. This site was made by The National Institute of the Korean Language which basically teaches Korean learners of the standard Korean pronunciation.

I browsed through the site and it has different sections. The first one is the Elementary Korean which is about the Korean characters or Hangeul (한글).

It lists down the twenty-one vowels with its corresponding romanization.

As well as the nineteen consonants.

It also shows the different ways to compose syllabic units. Its really quite handy for newbies who want to learn how to place each hangeul character in a block.

The next part is the Vowels (모음) Section.

As you can see in the screenshot, it has a small screen where you can see the opening of the mouth and placing of the tongue as the speaker says the word. You can either choose from front view, side view or a combination of front-side-front view. If you hover your cursor on each Korean word, you will see its English translation.

There’s also a special portion where you can compare those similar sounding vowels. Neat. 🙂

Third is the Consonants (자음) Section. Just like the vowels it has a mini screen for viewing the mouth formation and a page to compare the similar sounding consonants.

Next part is the Sound Change. In this section you can see how a letter can affect the pronunciation of the next letter. Again, it has a mini screen for the purpose of lip reading. LOL.

The last part is the Intonation Section but I don’t know why my browser won’t play the audios there. So I can’t really comment on that part.

What I don’t like about the site is the inaccessibility when using other browsers aside from Internet Explorer. I can’t access the recording function used in comparing my pronunciation with a native Korean. I also hate the pop-up every time I try to access a page.

Anyway, I use Internet Explorer (64-bit) in viewing this site. If you have any recommendations for better viewing of this site please leave a comment and share with us your experiences with the site.

And oh, I searched for the meaning of the title of the site — 바른소리.

바른 means correct, proper. And 소리 means sound or noise. So together it means, proper sound. 😀

Before I forget, you can view the site here. ➡

18 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. lyrynne / Dec 21 2009 2:09 am

    cool! i have a gard time pronouncing some letters like “ㅡ” maybe this can help me^^ Thanks sooooo much <33

    • owbEe / Dec 21 2009 5:42 pm

      You’re welcome. :mrgreen:

  2. nameisann / Dec 21 2009 8:56 pm

    wow! very neat presentation. I’m checking the site now. ^_^
    thanks alot~

    • owbEe / Dec 21 2009 9:14 pm

      Thanks bear. 😀

  3. nameisann / Dec 21 2009 9:00 pm

    Help! I can’t access the site. I’m on “Sound change” but I can’t access to the whole thing.
    thanks~

    • owbEe / Dec 21 2009 9:15 pm

      What browser are you using? It works fine when I use IE.

  4. Marta Ribes (aprenspan) / Dec 22 2009 1:43 am

    Thanks!!
    This is very useful. I read it in the commmunity “learn korean” and come here to read more.
    I like your blog!
    Thanks for sharing and letting us know about this site.
    Marta.

    • owbEe / Dec 22 2009 11:25 am

      Hi Marta. 🙂

      Thanks for visiting and commenting. I saw that you posted about the site in your blog. Thanks for mentioning me there. 😉

    • Marta Ribes (aprenspan) / Dec 22 2009 11:38 am

      I don’t know if you can understand Spanish but I wrote this:
      “Thank to owbEe that she published a post in talktomeinkorean Korean community I have known this very useful resource to learn and improve pronunciation”
      And if they click on your name they will be directed to your blog.
      Because you I knowed this site so I think that is my duty mention you and your blog. ^^
      (sorry if i wrote something wrong in English, I’m not good writing :p)
      Thanks!

  5. owbEe / Dec 22 2009 11:46 am

    @Marta: I don’t know Spanish but I know what gracias means so I really appreciate your post. 😀

    About your English, it’s okay. I understood what you wanted to say. Anyway, I don’t know if this is correct but I wanted to say, gracias mi amiga. :mrgreen:

    • Marta Ribes / Dec 23 2009 12:13 am

      Oh! Gracias!
      정말 감사합니다!
      “gracias mi amiga” Perfect! 😀

  6. Collyflower / Dec 22 2009 9:36 pm

    Hi. I am Jung min
    I am a korean high school student who also have a blog to show others and let others know more about korea.
    I really like your blog~
    It’s very organized and i was instantly attracted by this entry!
    Wow. they have a site where you can learn to pronunciate and talk! That will really help people who want to learn korean~ ^_^
    Great blog~ Look forward to seeing other entries~
    I will be visiting here often~ ^_^

    • owbEe / Dec 22 2009 10:09 pm

      Hi Jung min. 🙂

      Thanks for the very nice comment. I really want to share Korean with learners like me so every time I see a useful site I try to make a post about it.

      Anyway, I skimmed through your site and I think it contains informative things about Korea. I’ll visit and read more in the coming days. Thanks again for visiting.

  7. jinsane226 / Dec 27 2009 3:44 am

    Thank you for this!
    I also have a hard time with certain pronunciations so this site will help greatly!
    I’m new to LearnKorean and found your post!
    ^^
    So it’s only IE that it works for? Hmm…
    I’ll check to see if it works on Opera or Firefox, sine I mainly use those two.
    Again thank you so much for this!

    • owbEe / Dec 27 2009 6:28 pm

      You’re welcome jinsane226. 😀

      Anyway, I’ve tried browsing the site using Firefox but I think it needs to download something for the audios to play. I just don’t know how to make it work. If it worked for you please let us know so we can try it out too. Thanks and Happy Holidays! 🙂

  8. Malou / Sep 20 2010 12:13 pm

    Thanks for sharing this! I’m having fun 🙂

    • owbEe / Sep 22 2010 1:28 am

      You’re very much welcome Malou. 😀

Trackbacks

  1. Korean Sound Changes « Hangukdrama and Korean

Leave a Reply

