Skip to content
September 8, 2009 / owbEe

New Korean Books!

I’m sorry I haven’t been updating this site much lately. I also forgot to update KoreaNthusiast. I will try to post the words later today.

I just want to share that I just received the books I ordered at Barnes and Noble.

It was suggested by a dear friend from Hangukdrama, Shanna. She suggested the KLEAR (Korean Language Education and Research Center) Series. I got six books–three textbooks and three workbooks, from beginner 1 to intermediate 1.

If you also want to buy the said books, I suggest you buy it in Barnes and Noble. They have this promo on textbooks where you can buy them at a member’s only discounted price. That means 10% offΒ  of the online price.

If you may ask how much I got the books, I got them for only $86.77 which is a good price for six books. The books are also shipped for free. So it’s really a happy day for me.

I will be posting the photos of the books and workbooks later on. See you in a while. πŸ˜„

Here are the books!

Integrated Korean Textbooks

Integrated Korean Workbooks

36 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. JL / Sep 8 2009 6:32 pm

    Hey owBEe I got my Korean blog up and running now. It’s at http://www.koreanlikethis.com. I added you there already so you can add me there too. Thanks πŸ˜€

    • owbEe / Sep 8 2009 6:43 pm

      Sure. I added you already. Thanks for linking my blog too. πŸ™‚

  2. Hangukdrama / Sep 9 2009 10:19 pm

    wow you bought the books!! ^^ After you start using the workbooks, can you write a review of it? ^^
    I’m really curious how the workbooks are like. I’ve never seen them before since my neighbourhood lib don’t have them πŸ˜€

    have fun studying korean! ^^

    쒋은 ν•˜λ£¨ λ˜μ„Έμš”~~

    • owbEe / Sep 9 2009 10:56 pm

      Sure, I’ll try to make a review.

      Anyway, can I ask a favor from you? Since the workbook doesn’t have any answer key at all, is it possible for you to correct my answers? I’m planning to make a new category here containing the exercises from the workbook. Your corrections would really be of great help once I start studying Korean again.

      Thanks and have a good day too. πŸ™‚

    • Hangukdrama / Sep 12 2009 5:35 am

      haha sure i’ll definitely try my best to help ^^ but i’m no where as good as a korean πŸ˜„

  3. ChocoKorea / Sep 30 2009 1:10 am

    Hi! I really enjoy your blog! I am using these same books for the Korean class I just started.. they seem pretty good so far. I look forward to reading more of your entries!

    • owbEe / Sep 30 2009 1:21 am

      Thanks ChocoKorea.

      Yeah, I agree. The books are well organized and I really find the contents to be beginner-friendly.

      Btw, I added your blog in my list. πŸ˜€ Thanks for visiting.

    • ChocoKorea / Sep 30 2009 1:34 am

      Cool! I have added you as well! I just began my blog, still feeling my way around WordPress. ^_^

  4. owbEe / Sep 30 2009 1:37 am

    Thanks and good luck on your blog ChocoKorea.

    I’ll be visiting often. πŸ™‚

  5. Kat / Nov 1 2009 1:01 am

    Hi there!!!

    I am also learning Korean. I started 4months ago but i had to stop. And now I guess i have to start from scratch again.
    Anyway, may i know where did you order the books from? haha. i am planning to use this series since I read good reviews about it.

    Your blog is really helpful. Thank you so much!

    kat

    • owbEe / Nov 1 2009 4:35 am

      Hi Kat. πŸ˜€

      I bought the books at Barnes & Noble. I saw at Amazon.Com that Integrated Korean Beginning 1 now has a 2nd edition which will be out on November 30, 2009.

      By the way, thanks for linking my site in your blog. πŸ™‚

    • Kat / Nov 1 2009 4:40 am

      Thanks!
      uhm, where are you from by the way?

  6. owbEe / Nov 1 2009 4:42 am

    I’m originally from the Philippines but I now live California. πŸ™‚ How about you?

    • Kat / Nov 1 2009 4:45 am

      I’m from the Philippines! woah. XDD
      That’s why you also have Filipino links. That’s nice.

    • owbEe / Nov 1 2009 4:53 am

      Lol. Yeah.

      Btw, I have created a Philippine blog which needs a lot of love right now. It’s called 7107 Islands. The concept of the site is pretty much like Hyunwoo Sun’s Send Me To Korea. The only difference is I’m living outside the country so I can’t really update much.

      If you can, please help make it grow by linking it or by telling it to your friends who might be into photography and who might like to share their work. Please spread the love. Thanks. πŸ™‚

  7. Kat / Nov 1 2009 5:20 am

    Sure. I will.

    If I’m not busy with school, I might also send you some info that you can use to update your blog πŸ˜€

    • owbEe / Nov 1 2009 7:30 pm

      Thanks Kat. πŸ™‚

  8. Jaehoon Jeong / Dec 3 2009 10:30 pm

    Wow u’r learning Korean so hard πŸ˜„ I wanna study other languages too, but I have to graduate highschool first hehe. anyway, It’s Snowing! on this blog! I like it

    • owbEe / Dec 3 2009 10:40 pm

      Yep, I’m studying Korean but I only do self-studying. What languages are you planning to learn?

      You have a blog at wordpress right? You can also enable the snow function in your blog. You can do that by ticking Show falling snow on my blog in extras seen under the appearance section. πŸ™‚

    • Jan / Dec 4 2009 1:49 am

      i was really planning to learn hangeul before. i suddenly wanted to learn korean. i am happy that this site can facilitate my learning. i don’t have money to go to korea nor pay for a korean tutor. nevertheless, thank you. kamsahamnida. btw, im still n the alphabet. i want to have a good foundation of the letters. thanks again.

  9. Matthew / Dec 4 2009 6:28 am

    just wanted to say that I used this series when I first started studying and they were great. good choice and happy studying πŸ™‚

    • owbEe / Dec 4 2009 5:36 pm

      Yeah, I think the series is great too. Thanks for visiting Matt. πŸ˜€

  10. jandalawampu / May 6 2010 9:00 am

    is it still free delivery if i am from the philippines?

    • owbEe / May 6 2010 1:32 pm

      Hi jandalawampu.

      I checked Barnes & Noble and it says that the free shipping is only within U.S. Sorry. 😦

    • jandalawampu / May 7 2010 12:20 am

      is the KLEAR book is in konglish?

  11. owbEe / May 7 2010 3:04 pm

    Hi jandalawampu.

    What do you mean konglish? The book is in English.

    • jandalawampu / May 8 2010 2:58 am

      Konglish is Korean-English πŸ™‚

    • owbEe / May 8 2010 12:56 pm

      Oh, I see. The Konglish I know is the use of English words in a Korean context so I’m not really sure how to answer your question.

      The book is explained in English with samples in Hangeul. It’s not like conventional phrase books where you only or most of the time see romanized Korean. In these books, you are exposed to Hangeul so you won’t get confused with different styles of romanizing. πŸ˜€

  12. Elfira Y S / Apr 21 2011 11:52 pm

    *drool*
    I love stack of books!

    I’m currently at the last unit of Beginning 1. I’ve bought Beginning 2 and Intermediate 1 from Amazon but they haven’t got here yet. How’s the workbook? I only own the text book. Are they good?

    • owbEe / Apr 23 2011 3:11 am

      The workbooks are also good for practice. But the bad thing about the workbooks is that they don’t have answer key so you can’t really check if you answered correctly or not. I think the workbooks are designed if you are really studying the language with a professor or if you have a Korean friend to go over the questions with.

      I don’t really like writing on my books. I think that’s my bad side in learning a language. My scratch paper tends to get lost in the end. :/

  13. chaeok / Aug 6 2012 8:55 am

    hello i want to buy these books and workbooks but their shipping to my country are very expensive you are really lucky.

    • owbEe / Aug 7 2012 7:50 pm

      Hi chaeok.

      Don’t you have local amazon from where you live? If not, still try and check how much they charge for shipping and handling. Most of the time they have discounted books. I really love these books. I’m actually re-reading them right now. πŸ™‚ Or probably you can check out bookdepository.com. They might have Intregated Korean series. I know they offer free shipping.

  14. chaeok / Aug 14 2012 9:48 am

    do you know what the differences have between 1st edition and 2nd edition of ” integrated korean workbook beginner1 ” ?

    • owbEe / Aug 14 2012 10:53 pm

      I actually don’t have any idea. I only have the 1st edition so I don’t have anything to compare it with.

Trackbacks

  1. News & Updates #11: What have you been up to? « My Linguistics

Leave a Reply

