Skip to content
July 7, 2009 / owbEe

On Learning Hangeul

Learning a new alphabet that is very far from the ABC’s is a very frustrating part in learning a new language. When I started learning Korean, learning Hangeul was my first problem since I really can’t recognize certain characters. They all look the same to me.

June 08, 2008. I started learning the Korean writing system, Hangeul.

My sister, who was very fond of Super Junior at that time, taught me how to write the Korean characters. We practiced each character using a whiteboard and a marker (just like what I did with my Lucky 10). At first, I wasn’t convinced that I would be able to memorize all those 40 letters since I have poor memory skills, but she proved me wrong. After several days of practicing and writing senseless stuff just to test how far I’ve gone, I was able to learn Hangeul. It may be very tough at first but you’ll see a lot of reward afterwards.

I am proud that I can now write my name in Korean and some other stuff that I didn’t think I can write a  year ago. I may be feeling only a tenth, twelfth or maybe only a sixteenth of what 현우 씨 is feeling every time he learns a new language but it definitely made me feel fulfilled and happy.

I’ll try to make some posts on learning Hangeul next time. See you guys!

18 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Matt Strum / Jul 8 2009 8:23 am

    Hey, cool blog. I also really like to write about learning Korean^^. I just wanted to let you know that me and another guy have started a Korean language wiki which is growing pretty big. There’s a lot of pretty good resources, like the Hangeul Assistant (which lets you type Korean on any computer). Anyways, I just thought I’d mention it to you in case you’d like to use it for studying purposes or, even better, if you wanted to help expand the wiki. It’s a completely free and open project located at: http://www.koreanwikiproject.com/wiki

    • owbEe / Jul 8 2009 9:55 am

      Hi there Matt.

      Thanks. Yeah, I read about Korean Wiki Project from a friend’s post. It’s cool that you guys made such great effort in putting that up. It would help a lot of people learn Korean, especially me. Anyway, I’ll try my best to learn the language and help expand the wiki. 😉

      Good luck with the project. 😀

  2. Rob / Jul 8 2009 10:20 am

    Hey,

    So true about there being a lot of rewards to learning how to read Korean. I’m not sure where you’re located, but for non-Korean speakers living in Korea, why people don’t at least learn to read, I’ll never know. Half of the signs around town are English words just written in Korean!

    And this is the first I’m hearing of this wiki-thing. I’ll have to check it out.

    By the way, my site is in its infancy stages, so don’t judge it too harshly if you go and check it out.

    Cheers!

    • owbEe / Jul 8 2009 10:39 am

      Hey Rob!

      Don’t worry I’m not that kind of person. ^^

      I already visited your site. It’s cool actually. And I left some ‘harsh’ comments. LOL. 😆

    • Rob / Jul 8 2009 10:47 am

      Thanks owbEe. Glad you liked it!

    • owbEe / Jul 8 2009 11:18 am

      You’re welcome. And thanks for making that site too. ^^

  3. Rob / Jul 8 2009 10:49 am

    By the way,

    I have students taking my online class, and when they ask questions, I post the answers there. I’m hopefully going to try to get to one a day, so feel free to pop over and check it out.

    Cheers!

    • owbEe / Jul 8 2009 11:16 am

      Sure! That would be great, I would learn Korean as well. And yeah, I already joined your site. It’s cool I already have a new teacher.

      안녕하세요 롭 선생님!

      Is that how you write your name in Korean? Or maybe you have a Korean name? Your name sound cool. It sound like love with a b ending. ^^

  4. Rob / Jul 8 2009 11:22 am

    Haha, I write it as 랍, but people have a terrible time saying it and understanding it when I say it. And yeah, my Korean name is 김밥랍 – but for the reason you might think!

    만나서 반가워요!

    • owbEe / Jul 8 2009 11:29 am

      Wow. Cool name. Rice rolls.

      만나서 반가워요 too. How do you say ‘Nice to meet you too’? 저도 만나서 반가워요?

  5. Rob / Jul 8 2009 11:33 am

    Yup, exactly. You might use the higher form more often though – 반갑습니다.

    • owbEe / Jul 8 2009 11:39 am

      Oh yeah, I forgot you’re my teacher. Thanks teacher Rob. ^^

      But really, it’s nice meeting you teacher Rob. 🙂

  6. Rob / Jul 8 2009 11:44 am

    Haha, no, I didn’t mean for me. I prefer casual, but just in case you’re using your Korean “out there”.

    • owbEe / Jul 8 2009 11:46 am

      Lol. 😆

  7. Rob / Jul 8 2009 12:33 pm

    Hey owbEe, can you teach me something?

    I notice that when you comment on my site, you leave a picture, and your name is clickable. How do I do that?

    • owbEe / Jul 8 2009 12:48 pm

      Sure. Wait, follow these steps:

      1. First, go to your admin page.
      2. Look for Users. Click that and choose Your Profile.
      3. Fill up the contact info (website) with your link. Now your name is clickable. Congratulations!
      4. Then at the upper right panel, you can see the My Gravatar area. Just upload a picture there. ^^ And you’re done! Congratulations again! ^^

      Wait, are you using wordpress? I forgot, you are.

  8. Rob / Jul 8 2009 12:59 pm

    Thank you! But I don’t actually have the gravatar thing you were talking about, or I couldn’t find it. I’m not using wordpress blog, I’m using wordpress on my own site. I should still be able to change my pic though. Ah well, I’ll figure it out eventually, I’m sure. Thanks for your help!

    Rob..

    • owbEe / Jul 8 2009 1:07 pm

      Oh sorry about that. I thought they have it in the self-hosted wordpress.

      But if you still want to have the picture, you can sign-up at gravatar.com and place your picture there. It’s cool coz every time you post a comment on any gravatar-enabled site your picture will show. Of course you need to use the same email since (I think) they base the gravatar on the person’s email.

      I hope I helped you with that. 😉

Leave a Reply

