Skip to content
March 25, 2009 / owbEe

Steamed buns, yum, yum..

Two days ago, my mom made some siopao. Siopao, by the way, is a steamed bun with meat fillings. According to Wikipedia, siopao is the Filipino version of baozi of China and salapao of Thailand.

The siopao we made (we, since I made one Lol), has a chicken with raisin filling. It kinda tastes sweet because of the raisins and salty because of the soy sauce and salt? and some other seasoning. I’m not really sure since I only tried to play with the dough. Lol.

Anyway, here’s a photo of the siopao we made:

I was thinking of cutting it in half to show what the fillings look like but since I’m already full and no one will eat the harassed siopao, I opted not to bother it anymore.

And I know this has nothing to do with my Korean language studies but since it’s about Filipino food and I love food, I decided to share it to all of you.

Enjoy the yummy siopao!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kelly / Apr 10 2009 2:32 am

    I love those. 🙂

    You can buy microwaveable buns here in the Netherlands, though they call them “bapao”. They’re not as tasty as the real thing but the satay ones make a nice easy snack.

  2. Jaehoon Jeong / Mar 15 2010 8:14 am

    I really wanna eat them! It really looks like a Mandu! I love Mandus and Chickens, so I will try Siopao sometime 😀

    • owbEe / Mar 15 2010 6:08 pm

      Yes, you should. It’s really tasty. 😀

Leave a Reply

