Skip to content
March 22, 2009 / owbEe

제 소개

Last night, out of boredom and tiredness, I decided to write something in Korean. I haven’t read any Korean grammar books for months and I’m not updated with my studies so I really don’t know if I made any sense with this but I totally know that I messed up. While writing this, I only have my handy dictionary with me so please bear with the wrong grammar, conjugation, choice of words and my silly handwriting (I really need some practice). I really tried my best to construct this one, so please be gentle with me.

Here’s what I wrote:

안녕하세요 여러분.
제 이름은 사라입니다. 저는 22살이에요.
저는 필리핀 사람이에요. 하지만 지금 미국에 살이에요.
저는 한국에 가고 싶어요.
저도 언젠가 가적이랑 여행하고 싶어요.
아름다운 장소들(에) 가고 싶어요.
많이 것은 하고 싶어요.
하지만 우선은 저는 한국말 필요 배워요.
그래서 제발 저를 가르치에요. 감사합니다.
안녕!

Here’s a photo of that piece of paper with my handwriting.

My thoughts on what I wrote:

  1. First of all, I really don’t know what to write/say so I just looked up for several words from the dictionary and just patched them together (I know I’m bad at it, but I should try.)
  2. Here’s what I really wanted to say:
    Hi everyone! My name is Sarah. I’m 22 years old. I’m a Filipino but I now live in America. I want to go to Korea. I also want to travel with my family someday. I want to go to beautiful places. I want to do a lot of things. But first of all, I need to learn Korean. So please teach me. Thank you. Bye!
  3. As you may have noticed, I used -고 싶어(요) almost always. That’s because that’s the only thing I know (and remember) aside from the greetings 안녕하세요 and 안녕.
  4. Right before posting this I tried to translate it using google and it’s really awful.
  5. I learned from Cyworld that 소개 means ‘introduction’ but when I tried to translate 제 소개 it means ‘about me’. Hmm. 😕
  6. I think I should have just written 제 이름은 사라이에요 instead of ending it with -입니다.
  7. I was having trouble with the sequencing of words so I know I totally messed up with this one. Especially the part ‘but first of all, I need to learn Korean.’ I don’t know how to construct it so I just searched for the words and wrote it down.
  8. I tried to translate the English version of what I wrote in Google Translate. Here’s what it said:
    안녕하십니까! 내 이름은 사라입니다. 난 22 살이에요. 내가 필리핀어지만 지금은 미국에서 살고있다. 나는 한국에 가고 싶어요. 나도 언젠가는 내 가족과 함께 여행을 싶어요. 난 아름다운 곳으로 가고 싶어요. 나는 많은 것들을하고 싶어요. 하지만 무엇보다도, 한국어를 배울 필요가있다. 그래서 절 좀 가르쳐주세요. 감사합니다. 안녕!
  9. I want to say sorry to the books that I’ve been reading, tutorials that I’ve been studying and the podcasts that I’ve been listening. It seems that I haven’t learned a thing. 😥
12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. 현우 / Mar 23 2009 9:32 pm

    잘 썼어요! You did a very good job! : ) I didn’t have any problem understanding what you wanted to say, but here’s a little correction that I think might help you 🙂

    안녕하세요 여러분.
    perfect

    제 이름은 사라입니다. 저는 22살이에요.
    perfect

    저는 필리핀 사람이에요.
    perfect

    하지만 지금 미국에 살이에요.
    – 살이에요-> 살아요

    저는 한국에 가고 싶어요.
    perfect

    저도 언젠가 가적이랑 여행하고 싶어요.
    – 가적이랑-> 가족이랑

    아름다운 장소들(에) 가고 싶어요.
    – 장소들에-> 곳에

    많이 것은 하고 싶어요.
    – 것은-> 것을

    하지만 우선은 저는 한국말 필요 배워요.
    – 한국말 필요 배워요-> 한국말을 배워야 해요.

    그래서 제발 저를 가르치에요.
    – 가르치에요-> 가르치세요

    감사합니다.
    안녕!
    perfect

    GOOD JOB! ^^!!! Please keep writing!

    • owbEe / Mar 24 2009 2:23 am

      Thanks for the comment 현우 씨. It made me inspired to write more. Lol.

  2. Kelly / Mar 24 2009 2:26 pm

    I might not be able to read Korean but it looks very impressive! Even more so since it’s handwritten. It’s far too easy to rely on an input system…I’ve forgotten how to write many Chinese characters ever since I started using IMEs. I have no problem recognising characters but I struggle to remember exactly how they should be written. 😉

    • owbEe / Apr 4 2009 1:59 am

      Thanks. It makes me want to post more of my weird handwriting. Lol.

  3. 연희 / Mar 24 2009 11:44 pm

    wow,Sarah. I suprised that you display your hidden skill.
    현우씨 corrected your essay, so maybe I don’t correct~
    You have some mistakes, but very~very~very ~ perfectly.
    Also hand writing is cute and very well!^^
    Bye!

    • owbEe / Apr 4 2009 1:58 am

      Thanks for visiting my blog 연희.

  4. JL / Mar 25 2009 4:00 am

    Actually very good, the corrections made by 현우 are to be noted. Also, it’s good inserting some formal speeches in your conversations sometimes, especially when talking in a polite way. So the -입니다 ending is no problem.

    • owbEe / Apr 4 2009 1:59 am

      Okay, I’ll keep that in mind. 🙂

  5. semikyopo / Apr 6 2009 7:05 am

    Hey this was really good! It’s really impressive that you’re able to write this well–I know people who have been in Korea for more than 5 years and wouldn’t be able to write anything nearly as good as this ^ ^ Your handwriting is pretty good too!

    Just wanted to address some of the thoughts you had when you were writing. btw, from a language learning point of view, it’s really good that you’re keeping track of what’s going on in your mind as you write–this is one of best ways to make progress.

    “As you may have noticed, I used -고 싶어(요) almost always. That’s because that’s the only thing I know (and remember) aside from the greetings 안녕하세요 and 안녕.”
    ***
    Well you’re using these two patterns well and are expressing a lot of interesting things. You might want to add -야 해요 to your list. Like 현우씨 noted above, it means “have to do __” Here’s some examples of how to use it. “I have to go” = 가야 해요. “I have to do it” = “해야 해요” “I have to see it” = “봐야 해요” So, you conjugate the verb and then add “야 햐요”
    Also, a good thing to add to the end of 자기소개 is “잘 부탁 드려요~” Which means roughly “Please take good care of me!” It’s something that a lot of Korean people say when they’re introducing themselves to a new group of people.

    “I learned from Cyworld that 소개 means ‘introduction’ but when I tried to translate 제 소개 it means ‘about me’. Hmm.”
    ***
    Literally, “제 소개” means “my introduction.’ It looks like google translate was being a little liberal with the translation. You know, when we write a self-intro in English, we usually write “About Me” on the top of the page, not “My Introduction.”

    “I think I should have just written 제 이름은 사라이에요 instead of ending it with -입니다.”
    ***
    That would probably be a little smoother but this isn’t a huge deal. From what I hear around, people sometimes mix “입니다” and “이에요” in the same passages.

    “I was having trouble with the sequencing of words so I know I totally messed up with this one. Especially the part ‘but first of all, I need to learn Korean.’ I don’t know how to construct it so I just searched for the words and wrote it down.”
    ***
    I was surprised you said this. You must have a very good natural sense for Korean word order.

    “I want to say sorry to the books that I’ve been reading, tutorials that I’ve been studying and the podcasts that I’ve been listening. It seems that I haven’t learned a thing.”
    ***
    No need! Looks like you’re making great progress!

    • owbEe / Apr 6 2009 1:00 pm

      Thanks for the very detailed comment. I’m really happy while reading it. It makes me write twice as before.

      About -야 햐요
      Great! I learned a new sentence structure. I’ll try to write something about it next time. I just wanna ask, how do you make -야 햐요 into formal and casual? I presume -야 햐요 is in the standard form.

      Funny when I tried to translate 잘 부탁 드려요 using Google Translate it turned out to mean, “Well, I’m begging you.”

      About 자기소개
      I try to learn new words as much as possible. Since I only know 소개, I decided to look for the meaning of this word. I tried to look in my dictionary but it doesn’t have such word. The words in the dictionary with 자기 has a “self” in it. Some of the words are: 자기 방어 (self-defense), 자기 본위의 (self-centered), 자기 불신 (self-doubt), and 자기 수양 (self-discipline). So again, I presume that 자기소개 means ‘self-introduction.’ Lol. Correct me again if I’m wrong.

      About 잘 부탁 드려요 again
      It bothers me since I don’t understand the phrase. So again I looked for it in the dictionary. Another question, is 드려요 from 드리다? Just wondering since I can’t find any word close to it. Anyway, I’ll just keep your translation in my mind instead of breaking down the words into pieces. Lol.

      Anyways, thanks again for coming by and leaving a very helpful comment. I hope to see more of your long comments next time. Lol.

  6. kamillxjxmoon / Aug 19 2011 9:52 pm

    hey I’m a new follower of your blog. I just wanted to say you have very cute handwriting and I hope to just as good as you in Korean. ( I just started learning Korean yesterday)

    that’s one of the things I like about learning other languages the different ways of writing.
    my faves is Hangul and Thai alphabet.

    • owbEe / Aug 20 2011 11:19 am

      Hi kamill.

      Thanks for following and complimenting my handwriting. It makes me happy. 😀 I’m not really good in Korean yet. I’m trying to be though.

      I also like Thai alphabet but as of the moment I want to focus in Korean. Probably, I’ll learn Thai in the future. Not near future but future for sure. 😀

Leave a Reply

