Skip to content
November 2, 2008 / owbEe

A perfect day to celebrate

Today I’ll be focusing on everyone’s special day: birthdays!

Happy Birthday!

We usually hear this greeting when it’s our birthday, our friends’ birthday, our relatives’ birthday, our pet’s birthday or whomever birthday it is.

Even though I wasn’t raised in any of the states of America, I’ve been used to using that phrase. In the Philippines, people often use Taglish (a hybrid of Tagalog and English) in their daily conversations. And that includes the said greeting.

But how is Happy Birthday said in Tagalog anyway?

Maligayang Kaarawan!
Maligayang Bati!

Let’s analyze the greeting. Maligaya came from the root word ligaya which means joy, happiness. Kaarawan on the other hand means birthday (araw means day). ‘Maligayang Kaarawan‘ would then mean Happy Birthday. Next word is bati. In Filipino, ‘bati’ would have several different meanings depending on where you place tha accent and based on the context. Bati (with an accent on the 1st syllable) means greeting. ‘Maligayang Bati‘ literally means Happy Greeting.

Now let’s go to the Korean translation.

생일 축하합니다 (saengil chukhahamnida)
생일 축하해요 (saengil chukhahaeyo)

Since I have featured something about birthdays let me add something to please the eyes. I found this blog months ago when I was searching for the Korean translation of Happy Birthday. Here’s a photo of the cake by Su Yin:

I was really amazed by her talent in making such cute and elegant cakes so I placed the photo here. You can read the whole entry about the cake she made here. You can also see her other works here.

Anyway, I also found this mp3 on the web. It’s the Korean version of Happy Birthday. It’s really cute. It’s just that I dunno the meaning of the lyrics except the part where she finally says Happy Birthday. Oh, poor me. 😦


*Added Note
: Belated and Advance Happy Birthday to my friends namely, Francis (Oct30), Tin (Nov6), Kath (Nov7), Christian (Nov8), Joanna(Nov15), Kuya Vin (Nov18) and Jamie (Nov21).

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. hangukdrama / Nov 3 2008 5:21 am

    the cake looks amazing! haha so exquisite (:

  2. owbEe / Nov 12 2008 2:13 pm

    Yep. If I were given that cake I wouldn’t dare eat it. Haha!

Leave a Reply

