Skip to content
November 27, 2010 / owbEe

Special characters in Korean IME

If you have been visiting Cyworld (or any Korean-hosted blog or site) for quite some time, you might have noticed characters like ♥ ♡ ♪ ♩ ♬  ※ ★ ☆ . I don’t know if I’m the only one wondering where they got those characters or how they make those characters or if I need to type a special code just to get those characters but I’m really interested to know. So out of random curiosity, I asked my Korean friend how to type those characters.

So let me tell you how:

1. First be sure that you are using Korean IME as your main keyboard input. To install Korean IME in your computer check this post. To check if you are currently using Korean IME, you should see this icon at the bottom right screen of your computer.

2. Let’s say you are typing in MS word (or any preferred program). Type in the ㅁ character. If you’re not sure how to type this character check out this post.

3. Highlight the ㅁcharacter and press the Hanja Convert found at the bottom right section.

4. This should appear in your monitor.

5. Press the double right arrow to view all the characters available under ㅁ.

6. Pick your desired special character.

7. You can also use the other Korean consonants (ㅂ, ㅈ, ㄷ, ㄱ, ㅅ, ㄴ, ㅇ, ㄹ, ㅎ, ㅋ, ㅌ, ㅊ, ㅍ, ㅃ, ㄸ, ㄲ, ㅆ) to view other special characters.

By the way, one of my readers (Johnathan) mentioned something about special characters. I’m not sure if the special characters he’s asking are the ones I showed here. Hope I’m correct.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Taliana / Nov 27 2010 11:05 pm

    Under most/all language versions of Windows/keyboard settings you can access some/most of these, by pressing ALT, and then combinations of numbers 0 through 9 on your numpad (laptops without numpads, use the FN/function key plus the special numbers on your keyboard). No matter what language you’re typing it, it should work.

    But for those who don’t know the number combinations, this way is definitely easier! I only know the combinations for signs I often use (like ♥ or ♫), so this is helpful for seeing all the ones that are available :3

    • owbEe / Nov 27 2010 11:16 pm

      I also don’t know the number combinations so I find this a lot easier. I also hate numbers. ㅋㅋㅋ

  2. Hanu / Dec 16 2010 9:31 pm

    Hi~, owbEe. It is a very kind explain. ^^

    • owbEe / Dec 27 2010 4:33 am

      Oh. Hi there Hanu. How have you been?

  3. Learn Korean / Jun 19 2011 1:04 am

    I have been away from Korea for 8 years, and one of the things I am still getting used to is those so called emoticons that are sent from even co-workers or people you wouldn’t think would send those signs.
    I am adjusting since I am a fairly non-expressive person and Korea is forcing me to adapt and express in those ‘humble’ emoticons.
    Anyhoot, I wish KOrean ajummas would stop bothering me about having to do “Sun” ( 선)

  4. feifei91 / Aug 7 2011 9:41 pm

    The only character I’ve ever use is ♥ and that I copied from other website. :P So, thanks for the great post.. ♥

    • owbEe / Aug 8 2011 12:10 am

      You’re welcome feifei91. :D

  5. James / May 9 2012 11:10 pm

    Korean keyboards have a built-in “hanja convert” key. But, also, those who have a keyboard that has a right-ctrl key can use this key as the “hanja converter” while using the Korean IME. So, instead of have to press the “Hanja Convert” button in the status bar, you can use your right-ctrl key to do the same job (most desktop computers have the right-ctrl key, as well as many notebooks.) It is much faster than press the “Hanja Convert” button, especially if you are one of those guys who likes to auto-hide the taskbar. ♡ =-_-=

  6. tere novicio / Jun 1 2012 8:43 am

    hello owbee!
    got here because my PC is not displaying the korean alphabet anymore. maybe win7 fault.

    • owbEe / Jun 12 2012 1:45 am

      Hi tere.

      Did you change the settings? Try installing it again, probably it’ll work after that. :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 272 other followers

