Skip to content
May 2, 2009 / owbEe

Filipino Ka, Sabihin Mo!

I recently learned about this 5-minute show at The Filipino Channel (TFC) wherein a group of five aka Kada 5 teaches Filipinos abroad to learn Filipino words and phrases each day.

I don’t know when TFC started this mini show, I just saw it about 5 days ago. I personally think that this show would greatly help Filipinos from different parts of the globe to learn their ancentors’ tongue. It’s a good way to at least get a new vocabulary everyday.

Anyway, I found this video of the said show at Youtube. Thanks crescentbangs03 for uploading. ^^

By the way, ‘Filipino ka, sabihin mo!‘ means ‘You’re Filipino, say it!’

And before I go, here are other interesting episodes of the said show:

Family
Emotions
Following orders
Talents
Days of the week
Comparing

Enjoy learning Filipino. ^^

16 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. kalyespeak / Jun 4 2009 6:56 pm

    Cool! Glad TFC’s finally starting to spread the Filipino language! If you want more, head over to our site, we also teach Filipino! Spread it! :)

    • owbEe / Jun 5 2009 12:37 am

      Hi there! Yeah, I’ve visited your site a couple of months ago. I just wasn’t able to post something about it.

      I forgot the link of your site so I searched the net and found that you already moved to wordpress. Welcome!

      I’ll be spreading the link to your site once I get a lot of time with the net. Anyways, thanks for paying a visit to my blog.

      I’ll mail you for added questions. Hihi. Good luck with your work. ^^

  2. Jun F. / Jul 12 2009 6:02 pm

    What’a Filipino on a Tagalog language that they are teaching? the Philippines has over a dozen dialect, and thats totally unfair to the rest of the dialect, Tagalog as national language are made mainly to communicate to other Filipino Dialect, not to overlap the other dialects and makes it inferior and not to push that tagalogs are Filipino. If insisted, we the Visayans, the mindanaos, the Tausug and Maranaoz, the Bangsamoro people and so on to the rest of different dialect can claim separation and soverienty. Instead, showing the beauty of diversity, it shows the incorrect information to the world.

    • owbEe / Jul 12 2009 8:07 pm

      I’m not really sure if I got your point. I think TFC is just making a show for Filipinos who lived abroad and hadn’t learned the language. For your information, Tagalog is not the national language of the Philippines, Filipino is.

  3. Jun F. / Jul 13 2009 1:42 am

    my point is, show the rest of the world, that the Philippines has over more than a dozen spoken dialects. the Beauty of our Diverse Culture and Dialects, yet we are under one Flag, One Nation. Sometime before, Dept. of Education mandated that the medium of instruction in public or private schools is Pilipino or mainly, Tagalog as it is in 1939 named the National language by M.L.Quezon, then renamed ‘Pilipino’ to give it a national rather than ethnic label and connotation, We the Visayans, specially the Cebuanos did not accept; but in 1987, it was renamed to ‘Filipino’ to universalized the language and specified that as the Filipino language evolves, it shall be further developed and enriched on the basis of existing Philippine and other languages.

    Surely you will think, i might be jealous on being a Non-Tagalog, but, then again, i wanted equality and fairness, the way it should work, is, teach the rest of the mainly used dialects, by then I or we, or the rest can even learn something, after all that is the reason of the 1987 Constitution refers to. for an Example: I will ask, what is the Filipino of ‘Come over Here’? : in Tagalog: Punta Ka Dito, in Cebuano: Ari Dinhi or Anhi (ra) Dinhi, in Waray: Ngadi Didi, In Kapangpangan:’Munta Ka Kini’ and so on..

    • owbEe / Jul 13 2009 10:37 am

      I just want to share the national language of the Philippines here. Nothing more and nothing less. I’m not belittling other languages in the Philippines by means of this post. I don’t know anything about Cebuano, Waray and Kapampangan. The only languages I know are Filipino and a little of Tausug, but that’s it. So how can I post anything about those languages.

      I know there is a very large list of languages in the Philippines and my blog is made to share Filipino as the Philippine national language and not to criticize and belittle the other Philippine languages.

      If you really want to share The Diversity of Our Culture, you can make your own blog and start sharing Cebuano, Waray, Kapampangan, etc. to the whole world. It would benefit not only other people but yourself. Since in this means you will be able to share the “Beauty of our Diverse Culture and Dialects”.

  4. jc / Aug 3 2009 1:55 am

    I so love Kada Reggie . . . Does he have a facebook? Fanclub? Let me know.

    • owbEe / Aug 3 2009 10:29 am

      Sorry jc. I don’t know.

  5. jerome / Apr 20 2010 10:07 pm

    what’s kada trish’s real or full name thanks…

    • owbEe / Apr 20 2010 10:09 pm

      I’m sorry, I don’t know.

  6. Shannen / May 8 2010 12:30 pm

    Hi! Im filipino and i want to know how to say screwdriver, hammer, nail, wrench, and saw. Thanks!

    • owbEe / May 8 2010 1:22 pm

      Hi Shannen.

      Hammer is martilyo, nail is pako, wrench is liyabe, and saw is lagari. I’m not sure if there’s a direct translation of screwdriver. I asked my dad and he said that it’s also called screwdriver.

      Hope this helps! :D

  7. megumitch / May 24 2010 10:47 pm

    Astig ka!Promise!

    • owbEe / May 25 2010 12:56 am

      ahaha! Bakit naman?

  8. NICK / Jun 10 2010 10:53 am

    not all their translations are correct………they should have real pinoy hosts (they could do better)

  9. Fatbiker / Nov 1 2010 4:58 pm

    Kada trish is patricia fernandez former beauty queen and UP alumni

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 279 other followers

