Skip to content
March 12, 2009 / owbEe

Installing MS Korean IME

I recently received my birthday gift from my parents. They gave me a Sony Vaio CS laptop. Since it’s new and I’m not used to Vista, I don’t know how to install the Korean IME. I searched the web for tutorials and I found several ones. Anyway, for those who are having the same problem as mine, here’s the steps for Vista:

  1. Click Start button.
  2. Choose Control Panel.
  3. Click the “Clock, Language, and Region” option.
  4. Under the Regional and Language Options, select Change keyboards or other input methods.
  5. This will open the Keyboard and Languages tab in the Regional and Language Options dialog box. You then need to click the Change Keyboards… button.
  6. Another dialog box will open. Now it’s time to add Korean IME so click the Add… button.
  7. You would then see the Add Input Language dialog box. Scroll down until you see the Korean entry. Expand it and select Korean and Microsoft IME.
  8. Then click the OK button.
  9. It will now add a “Korean” entry under “Installed services”.
  10. Finally click the OK button.

I hope you find my post useful. I really enjoyed doing the screenshots for the tutorial. :smile:

You can also check out my other How To posts:

20 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. cappuccinespresso / Mar 14 2009 1:54 am

    Waah. You should’ve just asked me instead of searching the net. D:

    Nice tutorial, btw. XD

    • owbEe / Mar 14 2009 1:58 am

      I thought of asking you but you’re too busy and I don’t want to hear you nag. Hehe.. And I also thought I need to post something up for my blog.

      Thanks for the comment. I live for comments. :smile:

    • cappuccinespresso / Mar 14 2009 6:17 pm

      Bah, HUMBUG. I do NOT ever NAG. D:< That’s not me.

  2. weigukin / Oct 2 2009 2:30 pm

    Thanks for taking the time to do this. Saved me a lot of time!

    • owbEe / Oct 2 2009 8:12 pm

      you’re welcome. :)

  3. 기섭 / Nov 1 2009 3:16 pm

    Thank you very much! Your screenshots made everything so clear and simple- !

    • owbEe / Nov 1 2009 7:33 pm

      Hi 기섭.

      You’re welcome. :grin:

  4. nameisann / Jan 6 2010 10:43 pm

    this is really helpful!!
    I’ve done this with my computer before and now I did it with the laptop! ^^
    thanks a lot!

    • owbEe / Jan 7 2010 2:56 pm

      You’re welcome ann. I’m happy that my post helped you in some way. XD

  5. court / Aug 14 2010 8:00 pm

    Why do you need to select BOTH Korean and Microsoft IME? What happens when you select one or the other?

    • owbEe / Sep 8 2010 2:14 am

      Hi Court. I’m not so sure about it. I just followed some instructions on how to set-up the Korean IME on Vista. If I find anything about it, I’ll surely tell you. :D

  6. Kevin / Aug 24 2010 9:39 pm

    tyring to figure out hot to install Korean IME on Windows 7.

    Can anyone tell/ show me how it can be done?

    Thanks upfron!

    Kevin

    • owbEe / Sep 8 2010 2:13 am

      Hi Kevin. I’m not sure how to set-up the Korean IME for Windows 7. Try doing the tutorial for Windows Vista, it might work. If you still can’t I might ask my sister to do a tutorial for you. :D

  7. Kayla / Feb 25 2013 3:54 pm

    How do you get the IME? I set everything up but it will not work…I type and it comes out in english letters. Could it me the fact that I am using an American keyboard?

    • owbEe / Mar 2 2013 9:32 pm

      Hi Kayla,

      Sorry for the delayed response. If you installed the IME as I have instructed, you can type easily in Korean by following my two other tutorials:

      Typing in Hangeul Part 1
      Typing in Hangeul Part 2

      If you still encounter some problems or if you have some more questions, feel free to leave a comment here. :)

      Thanks for the visit. ^^

  8. have a peek at this web-site / Apr 19 2013 9:00 am

    Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thank you

    • owbEe / Apr 19 2013 12:15 pm

      Hi there stranger.

      I don’t mind at all. Readers are greatly appreciated. Share away! ;)

Trackbacks

  1. Typing in Hangeul « My Linguistics
  2. Special characters in Korean IME « My Linguistics
  3. How To: Learn & Type the Korean Keyboard Layout « This Can Be Pronounced

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 272 other followers

